Annual Tribune Cup

41st Tribune Cup Regatta NOR-2016


presents the

41st Annual Tribune Cup Regatta

September 24th and 25th, 2015

Chief Timothy Park, eight miles west of Clarkston, WA
One-design and handicap fleets (Portsmouth)


Friday, Sept. 23     Early arrivals welcome • Tent and RV camping at Chief Timothy Park • Local motels also available.

Saturday, Sept 24    8:30am – 9:45am Coffee and Registration • 10am Skippers’ Meeting • 11am Start of first race • 3-4 races • Post-race barbeque dinner

Sunday, Sept 25    9am Start of first race • 1-3 races • No starts after 2pm      Awards presented ASAP after last race

The regatta will be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing, One Design Classes Rules, this Notice of Race, the Sailing Instructions, and Skipper’s Meeting amendments All races are sailed under USSA as modified by LCSA race instructions.

41st Tribune Cup Regatta NOR-2016

41st Tribune Cup Registration Form

Photos from Past Regattas


38th Annual Trib Cup Results (2013)

The weekend started and ended with strong blustery winds and cool temperatures.  Unfortunaltey Saturday’s winds never settled down enough to get any racing in.   With winds in the upper teens at noon and gust reaching 30mph, it was decided to err on the side of safety and call off racing for the day.

Saturday night proved exciting for Greg Umbright as he chose to sleep on his boat tied the the pump out dock only to be awaken around midnight by high winds with gusts hitting 48mph at 1:45am.

The predicted rains held off for Sunday and we were able to get in four races in light to moderate winds that were very shifty to say the least.   Between 9:00am and 2:00pm the winds came from all four directions a one time or another.  Racing was called at 1:45pm as the winds began to increase with gusts in excess of 25mph.

Special thanks to  Greg Umbright and Christine Berven for Race Committee duties and creating fantastic trophies, Debbie Snell and Georgia Murphy  for dinner preparations.

Flying Scots
1st – Brian Terrel, (2, 1, 1, 1) Columbia Basin Sailing Club, Tri-Cities, WA
2nd – Richard Obst, (1, 2, 2, 2) CBSC, Tri-Cities, WA
3rd – Doug Queen, (3, 3, 3, 3) CBSC, Tri-Cities, WA

San Juan 21
1st – Loren Murphy, (2, 2, 1, 1) Lewis Clark Sailing Association, Clarkston, WA
2nd – Tim Lynch, (1, 1, 3, 2) LCSA, Lewiston, ID
3rd – Jerry Snell, (3, 3, 2, 3) LCSA, Colfax, WA
4th – Butch Alford, (4, 4, 4,4) LCSA, Lewiston, ID


37th Annual Trib Cup Results (2012)

Sailing in his Mantis,  Randy Blair of Clarkston was the only non San Juan 21 to enter the regatta this year.  Nine San Juan 21′s duked it out with the big red trimaran through 6 races over two days.  Mary McCollum parted ways with her long time sailing partner Wes Vaughn to sail her own boat this year and gave Wes a run for his money for 2nd Place.  Perennial winner Marc VanderScahlie and family once again were the class of the field, taking the bullet (1st place) in all six races.


Marc VanderSchalie        San Juan 21        1st
Wes Vaughn                        San Juan 21        2nd
Mary McCollum                 San Juan 21        3rd
Marty Hines (Boise)         San Juan 21        4th


36th Annual Trib Cup Results (2011)

Sailing in his red Comet Trimaran, Randy Blair of Clarkston missed coming in first place by just 14 seconds at the 36th annual Tribune Cup at Chief Timothy.

In the light winds Sunday, sailboats in the open class failed to finish within the 1-hour, 30-minute time limit – by just 14 seconds. Those 14 seconds cost Blair first place as David Walker of Seattle won with this Buccaneer 18.  Blair took second.

In the San Juan class, three-time national champion Mark VanderSchalie continued to dominate the field of 11 boats and took first place in his green “Kermit” boat. In Saturday’s race VanderSchalie employed a strategy of hugging the shoreline of the island as he went upstream to the first mark, tacking with each slight wind shift.

Tim Lynch of Lewiston placed third in the San Juan class while his crew, 4-year-old Dylana, fished over the side for yellow plastic fish.

Click here for photos!

OPEN Class

Skipper                                            Boat                Position
Dave Walker – Spokane, Wa        Bucanner 18      1
Randy Blair – Clarkston, Wa        Comet 23           2
Jeff Hanson – Pullman, Wa          McGregor 24     3
Greg Umbright – Pullman, Wa    Aquarius 23      4
Tim Little – Kennewick, Wa         Laser                 5

San Juan 21 Class

1 Vanderschalie
2 Murphy
3 Lynch
4 Vaughn
5 Sergio
6 Snell
7 VanDusen
8 Alford
9 Riendeau
10 Lee
11 Wicks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>